Is Coffee Kosher for Passover?
Coffee production poses many Passover concerns, so special Kosher for Passover certification is required.
5 coffee concerns on Passover
- Instant coffee is frequently spray dried. While most coffee facilities own their own spray dryers, some send their products to be spray dried at outside (non-coffee) facilities. These outside facilities could be drying many other products including chometz. Without proper hashgacha and koshering between runs it would render the products not acceptable for Pesach
- Another challenge relates specifically to decaffeinated coffee. One of the methods used to decaffeinate the coffee relies on the use of ethyl acetate, which can be derived from chometz.
- Some facilities that pack coffee also pack drinks derived from grains. Though not a year-round kashrus concern, this can be a Passover concern if there is no hashgacha to ensure that the equipment was properly cleaned for Passover.
- In addition, over the years coffee has become quite an expensive product. An unscrupulous company may have an incentive to adulterate the coffee with other ingredients, which could again be chometz.
- Flavored coffees come with a separate set of possible concerns. Flavors can be made up of many ingredients, including many which are unacceptable for Passover and may even be non-kosher. For this reason, flavored coffee requires a hechsher for year-round use and should be avoided on Passover unless bearing a special Passover certification.
Send a link to your friend
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]